American Academy of Actuaries to Honor Michael Boerner With Robert J. Myers Public Service Award

September 18, 2015

WASHINGTON – The American Academy of Actuaries announced that it will honor Michael Boerner, MAAA, ASA, director of the actuarial office in the financial regulation division of the Texas Department of Insurance, with the 2015 Robert J. Myers Public Service Award during the Academy’s Annual Meeting and Public Policy Forum, Nov. 12-13 in Washington, D.C.

“In recognition of his extraordinary contribution to the public good through service with the Texas Department of Insurance and exceptional leadership at the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), the Academy is delighted to announce it will honor Mike as the 21st recipient of the Myers Award,” said Academy President Mary D. Miller. “Mike has been praised as the leading state actuary for many years in the development and implementation of principle-based reserving, which is a sea change in how life insurance reserves are to be calculated. One of the many examples of his leadership is in the drafting of the NAIC Valuation Manual, setting forth minimum reserve and related requirements essential for the implementation of PBR. His peers have praised Mike’s effectiveness during his long tenure as a regulatory actuary—in particular his even-handed, honest approach in achieving outcomes; his approach to open communication; and the high level of quality he sets for himself in the performance of his role as chairperson of the NAIC’s Life Actuarial Task Force and the other roles he ably fills at the NAIC and for the Texas Department of Insurance.”

“It is a tremendous and unexpected honor to receive this award from my Academy peers,” said Boerner. “The honor belongs not just to me, but also to many colleagues and friends who are dedicated to applying the skills and knowledge of the actuarial profession in serving the public.”

The Academy’s Committee on Actuarial Public Service established the Robert J. Myers Award for Public Service in 1994. The award is named after Robert J. Myers to honor his lifelong commitment to public service.


The American Academy of Actuaries is an 18,500+ member professional association whose mission is to serve the public and the U.S. actuarial profession. The Academy assists public policymakers on all levels by providing leadership, objective expertise, and actuarial advice on risk and financial security issues. The Academy also sets qualification, practice, and professionalism standards for actuaries in the United States.