

Objective. Independent. Effective.™

NEWS RELEASE

FOR RELEASE
November 13, 2015, 8:00 a.m. EST
Contact: David Mendes
Phone: 202-384-2075

Email: mendes@actuary.org

American Academy of Actuaries Recognizes Members' Service to Public and Profession

WASHINGTON — The American Academy of Actuaries is recognizing several of its prominent members for their service to the public and the U.S. actuarial profession with awards that are being presented at its Annual Meeting and Public Policy Forum on Nov. 12-13 in Washington, D.C. They include the Academy's two most prestigious awards, the Jarvis Farley Service Award and the Robert J. Myers Public Service Award.

"Service is at the heart of the Academy and its mission," said Academy 2014-15

President Mary D. Miller. "We are fortunate to benefit from the skill, dedication, and hard work of more than 1,400 Academy volunteers, as well as to recognize among our membership the contributions of actuaries working in public service. Our members produce substantial, noteworthy work that touches every practice area and many aspects of our profession and beyond."

Andrea Sweeny, principal of Casualty Actuarial Assistance LLC, Meriden, Conn., and a longtime Academy volunteer whose leadership has been integral to numerous endeavors benefiting the U.S. actuarial profession such as the highly acclaimed P/C Effective Loss Reserve Opinions Seminar, will receive the 2015 Jarvis Farley Service Award. The award honors actuaries whose volunteer efforts on behalf of the Academy have made significant contributions to the advancement of the profession. The Academy established the award in 1991 to honor one of its most dedicated volunteers, Jarvis Farley, a charter member of the Academy and an invaluable resource for the profession.

Michael Boerner, director of the actuarial office in the financial regulation division of the Texas Department of Insurance, who one nominator praised as "the leading state

11-13-15 – ACADEMY RECOGNIZES MEMBERS' SERVICE TO PROFESSION AND PUBLIC

actuary for many years in the development and implementation of principle-based reserving," received the 2015 Robert J. Myers Public Service Award. The Academy's Committee on Actuarial Public Service established the award in 1994. The award is named after Robert J. Myers to honor his lifelong commitment to public service.

Four Academy volunteers—April Choi, Ellen Kleinstuber, Patricia Matson, and Lisa Slotznick—were recognized with the Academy's 2015 Award for Outstanding Volunteerism. The award honors Academy volunteers who have made a single, noteworthy volunteerism contribution in the previous year that is above and beyond what is reasonably expected of an Academy volunteer.

"In their volunteer work for the Academy, April, Ellen, Tricia, and Lisa each stood out as substantially contributing to important Academy work, demonstrating a commitment to the profession and the public that won the admiration of the members and officers of the Academy," said Miller.

###

About the American Academy of Actuaries

The American Academy of Actuaries is an 18,500+ member professional association whose mission is to serve the public and the U.S. actuarial profession. The Academy assists public policymakers on all levels by providing leadership, objective expertise, and actuarial advice on risk and financial security issues. The Academy also sets qualification, practice, and professionalism standards for actuaries in the United States.

Media Only: For digital photographs of the award recipients, contact David Mendes, assistant director of communications, public affairs, at the American Academy of Actuaries, at 202-384-2075 or mendes @actuary.org.