NEWS RELEASE

Objective. Independent. Effective.™

FOR RELEASE November 4, 2021, 2:00 p.m. EDT

Contact: David Mendes
Phone: 202.384.2075
Email: mendes@actuary.org

Academy Officers and Regular Directors Begin Terms

WASHINGTON—The American Academy of Actuaries is pleased to announce that, in addition to **Maryellen Coggins** taking office today as 2021–22 Academy president, five officers and three regular directors began their terms on its Board of Directors at the conclusion of the Academy's Annual Meeting of Members.

Kenneth A. Kent of Mclean, Va., who previously served different terms as the Academy's vice president of pension and vice president of professionalism and has had many other volunteer roles at the Academy, began his term as Academy president-elect. Kent said: "I have had the privilege of working with and learning from many of the Academy's leadership over the past 20 years and endeavor to continue their legacy of maintaining and advancing the Academy's position as the national association for all U.S. actuaries." He will become Academy president at the conclusion of the Academy's 2022 Annual Meeting of Members next fall.

Catherine Murphy-Barron of New York, N.Y., began a third and final one-year term as Academy secretary-treasurer.

Three Academy members began two-year terms as vice presidents: Seong-min Eom of Trenton, N.J., vice president, risk management and financial reporting; Benjamin Slutsker of Brooklyn, N.Y., vice president, life; and Sherry Chan of New York, N.Y., vice president, pension. Eom has served on the Academy's Risk Management and Financial Reporting Council and is a past recipient of the Academy's Outstanding Volunteerism Award. Slutsker has been a member of the Life Practice Council and is the current chairperson of the Annuity Reserves & Capital Work Group. Chan has served as a member and vice chairperson of the Pension Practice Council (PPC) and chairperson of the PPC's Public Plans Committee.

The officers were elected by the Academy Board of Directors at the Board's annual meeting on Oct. 5, 2021.

(MORE)

The regular directors starting new terms on the Board today are **Dorothy Andrews of**Charlotte, N.C.; Chris Carlson of Upper Arlington, Ohio; and Annette James of Reno, Nev.

Their terms of service on the Board are three years. The Academy's Nominating Committee presented the slate of three candidates for open regular director positions, and Academy members elected them over the summer.

Andrews is chairperson of the Academy's Data Science and Analytics Committee and serves on the Risk Management and Financial Reporting Council and the P/C Racial Equity Task Force. She has served on several other Academy committees and task forces.

Carlson, who just completed one year of service to fill a vacated seat on the Academy Board of Directors and previously served on the Board as a special director, is a former Actuarial Standards Board member.

James, a member of the Health Practice Council (HPC) and chairperson of the HPC's Health Equity Work Group, has served on the ASB's Health Committee and other HPC committees and work groups.

For more information on the Academy, please visit <u>www.actuary.org</u>.

[Media only: Photos of the officers and directors are available by contacting Academy Assistant Director of Communications, Public Affairs, David Mendes at mendes@actuary.org.]
###

The American Academy of Actuaries is a 19,500+ member professional association whose mission is to serve the public and the U.S. actuarial profession. For more than 50 years, the Academy has assisted public policymakers on all levels by providing leadership, objective expertise, and actuarial advice on risk and financial security issues. The Academy also sets qualification, practice, and professionalism standards for actuaries in the United States.