American Academy of Actuaries to Honor Volunteers’ Efforts

September 13, 2017
WASHINGTON—The American Academy of Actuaries will honor five exceptional volunteers, Mary Bahna-Nolan of Naperville, Ill., Keith Passwater of Brownsburg, Ind., Lenny Reback of Highland Park, N.J., Nancy Watkins of San Francisco, Calif., and Aaron Weindling of Philadelphia, Pa., for their contributions to the work of the Academy and their efforts to advance its mission. The five actuaries will be presented with Outstanding Volunteerism Awards at the Academy’s Annual Meeting and Public Policy Forum in Washington, D.C., on Nov. 15.

“The Academy benefits each year from the substantive contributions of more than 1,200 volunteers who are actively engaged in fulfilling its public policy and professionalism mission,” said Academy President Bob Beuerlein. “In their volunteer work for the Academy, Mary, Keith, Lenny, Nancy, and Aaron each contributed substantially to important Academy work, demonstrating a commitment to the profession and the public that won the admiration of the members and officers of the Academy.”

Mary Bahna-Nolan, MAAA, FSA, CERA, is being recognized for her outstanding work serving as chairperson of the Academy’s Life Experience Committee and as an active faculty member for the Academy’s PBR Boot Camps, and for her work on guaranteed issue, simplified issue, and accelerated underwriting and the potential impact of principle-based reserving (PBR) requirements on policies issued under these approaches.

Keith Passwater, MAAA, FSA, FCA, is receiving the award for his work as chairperson of the Committee on Qualifications, whose visibility and effectiveness increased under his leadership through intensified outreach, information, and education efforts.

As chairperson of the Academy’s Financial Reporting Committee, Lenny Reback, MAAA, FSA, engaged with standards-setters during a period of heightened activity related to new accounting standards for insurance policies, and demonstrated leadership in providing considerable input to the Financial Accounting Standards Board on long-duration contracts.
Nancy Watkins, MAAA, FCAS, was nominated for her exceptional work as a member of the Flood Insurance Work Group, including co-authoring the flood insurance monograph published earlier this year, and supporting its release as a co-presenter of an Academy Capitol Hill briefing on the National Flood Insurance Program.

Aaron Weindling, MAAA, FSA, FCA, EA, is being recognized for his numerous contributions to Pension Practice Council projects, including bringing a financial economics perspective to the recently published Assessing Pension Plan Health: More Than One Right Number Tells the Whole Story issue brief and other papers, his work on a special multiemployer reputational risk work group, and his contributions to the Selecting Investment Return Assumptions Based on Anticipated Future Experience practice note exposure draft and other projects.

The Academy established the Outstanding Volunteerism Award in 2011 to honor Academy volunteers who have in the past year made a single, noteworthy volunteerism contribution that is above and beyond what is reasonably expected of an Academy volunteer. Learn more about the award and its past recipients at

The American Academy of Actuaries is a 19,000-member professional association whose mission is to serve the public and the U.S. actuarial profession. For more than 50 years, the Academy has assisted public policymakers on all levels by providing leadership, objective expertise, and actuarial advice on risk and financial security issues. The Academy also sets qualification, practice, and professionalism standards for actuaries in the United States.